New Jersey Real Estate Requirements.
Continuing Education Requirements
This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by real estate agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state real estate department. See contact information below.
All real estate licenses are issued on the basis of a 2-year license term. Renewal notices are sent to the employing broker's office.
In order to qualify for license renewal no later than July 1, 2021, a total of 12 credit hours of CE in Specific categories must be completed by June 30, 2021. All 12 credit hours must be completed before April 30, 2021 to avoid a $200 late fee.
Remember that once credits are reported, it takes approximately 10 business days for the confirmation of your completed continuing education to be transferred from the CE Provider to the testing vendor to the Real Estate Commission.
In order to qualify for license renewal or reinstatement, every individual licensed as a broker of record, broker-salesperson or salesperson must satisfy at least ONE of the below CE requirements:
Completion of 12 credit hours of CE applicable to the license term. At least six of the twelve credits must be obtained in courses within the "core topics". The six shall include at least 2 credit hours on Ethics and at least 1 credit hour on Fair Housing. The remainder can be electives or core.
Successful completion of one or more broker pre-licensure education courses within the license term) as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.1 shall fulfill CE requirements for renewal.
Salespersons initially licensed in the SECOND year of the NJ real estate license term shall not be required to fulfill any continuing education to renew their license upon the conclusion of that license term.
a) Salespersons initially licensed in the FIRST year of the NJ real estate license term WILL BE REQUIRED to complete CE requirements in order to renew their license for the next term.
b) The "Late" CE Fee: The NJREC has the statutory authority to impose a $200.00 fee on all licensees who fail to complete all of their 12 CE requirements. Therefore, licensees who fail to complete the CE requirement will have to pay the $200 CE processing fee in addition to the license renewal fee.
c) Any NJ Broker or Salesperson currently in an inactive referral agent status will be required to complete continuing education, all of which need to be approved as CORE credits, to reactivate their license. You will need to contact the New Jersey Real Estate Commission for specific details on the number of credits required for your situation. Their phone number is 609-292-7272
Please be aware that it will take approximately 10 business days for the confirmation of your completed continuing education to be transferred from the school to the testing vendor to the Real Estate Commission.
Real estate salespersons, broker-salespersons and brokers are required to complete 12 hours of CE per license term in order to renew their license for the next license term. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.3(a). At least six of the 12 hours must be in the following core topics, of which each topic except ethics must have an ethics component relating to the topic. The core topics are as follows. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.4(a)1-8 and 11:5-12.4(c):
• Legal Issues (i.e. listing agreements, contracts, leases, attorney review)
• Ethics (2 Ethics credits are mandatory)
• Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (1 Fair Housing credit is mandatory)
• New Jersey Real Estate Broker and Salesperson Statues and Regulations
• State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations Pertaining to Real Estate
• Legal Requirements regarding Escrow Monies and Financial Record-keeping
The following are approved as topics for elective courses. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.13(a)1-9.
• Commercial Real Estate
• Property Management
• Seasonal Rentals
• Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act and Real Estate Timeshare Act
• Land Use
• Real Estate Valuation
• Foreclosure and Short-Sale Transactions
• Specific Aspects of Residential Real Estate Transactions
Waivers from CE requirements may be granted either in whole or in part for:
• Incapacitating illness
• Active military duty
• Other substantial/unavoidable hardship (not including financial hardship, business conflicts or personal obligations)
Licensees granted a waiver from CE requirements (with the exception of those for active duty military service), will have to make up the waived core course(s) missed in the next license term in addition to all of the credits required for that license term as a condition of license renewal for the license term following when the waiver was issued. (For example, if six core credits were waived, a licensee will have to complete a total of 18 in the next license term.) See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.5(f).
Any waived elective courses will not have to be completed by a real estate licensee. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.5(g).
Application for Real Estate Continuing Education Waiver - Fillable MS Word or PDF
Approved Course Delivery Methods
• Independent self-study online courses
Licensees may not carryover any continuing education to the next compliance period.
Credit will not be given for courses that are repeated within the same compliance period.
Students will receive a course completion document from Cape (available upon course completion).
Please maintain these documents for your records as proof of course completion.
Cape will report credits electronically to the Commission or its designee within 10 days of course completion.
If you have any questions on state requirements, please contact:
New Jersey Real Estate Commission
Website: NJ Department of Banking & Insurance-Real Estate Commission
If you questions regarding our courses, please contact CAPE at:
CAPE School, Inc.
PO Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921
or email us